Prize in Military History
Reports and Papers

The intent of the $50,000 prize, which is jointly administered by the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation and the New-York Historical Society, is to draw public attention to military history not only as an important staple of education in the areas of international relations, diplomacy, and conflict studies, but also as a subject in which any educated citizen should be interested. The study of steps to war, the conduct of military campaigns, and diplomatic responses to war can play an essential role in the quest for a more peaceable future.

The winner of the 2013 Prize was Allen C. Guelzo, for Gettysburg: The Last Invasion.

The winner of the 2014 Prize was Alexander Watson, for Ring of Steel: Germany and Austria-Hungary in World War I.

The winner of the 2015 Prize was David Preston, for Braddock’s Defeat: The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution.

The finalists for the 2015 prize were

  • First Over There – The Attack on Cantigny, America’s First Battle of World War I by Matthew J. Davenport
  • Braddock’s Defeat – The Battle of the Monongahela and the Road to Revolution by David Preston
  • The German War – A Nation Under Arms, 1939-1945 by Nicholas Stargardt
  • Custer’s Trials – A Life on the Frontier of a New America by T. J. Stiles

The winner of the 2015 prize was announced at a ceremony March 21 at the New-York Historical Society in New York City.

The 2015 Judging Committee:

  • Andrew Roberts, Ph.D., historian and journalist (Chair)
  • Charles F. Brower IV, Ph.D., Brigadier General, USA, Retd; Henry King Burgwyn Professor of Military History, Virginia Military Institute
  • Josiah Bunting III, President of the Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation; Recording Secretary to the Committee
  • Flora Fraser, author; Chair of the Elizabeth Longford Prize for Historical Biography; founder of the Elizabeth Longford Grants for Historical Biography
  • W. Patrick Lang, former head of Middle East, South Asian, and Counter-Terrorist affairs in the Defense Intelligence Agency
  • Ralph Peters, Lt. Col., USA Retd; author; television news strategic analyst

Submission Guidelines

To be eligible for the 2015 prize, a book must be published between January 1, 2015 and December 31, 2015. The submission deadline is November 1, 2015.

Publishers must submit 8 copies of each book for consideration, accompanied by a completed submission form, which can be downloaded here:

The books, along with the submission form, should be shipped to:

Michael Ryan
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024

Additional Guidelines

  • Eligible books may be written by no more than two authors.
  • Books may be published anywhere in the world but must have been written originally in English.
  • Submissions must come from the book's publisher. Authors may not directly submit their books for consideration.
  • Self-published books and children's books are not eligible for the prize.
  • If no submitted book is deemed worthy of the prize by the judges, no prize will be awarded.
  • The winner of the prize must be available for media interviews in the days after the New York ceremony.

Public relations queries:

Lauren Scully
The New-York Historical Society
170 Central Park West
New York, NY 10024
(212) 873-3400 x366

Research PrioritiesResearch GrantsDissertation Fellowships
Search research reportsRequest a grant application
© 2011 || The Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation